Bath Meadow, Beaver Road, Ashford, Kent TN23 7RR


BRSA Ashford Railway Club

Welcome to Ashford Railway Club (Kent)

Welcome to Ashford Railway Club (Kent)

Welcome to Ashford Railway Club (Kent)Welcome to Ashford Railway Club (Kent)
Hazel Larkin Qualified for the Maude Wood Final (unbadge)

Hazel Larkin

Hazel qualified for the Maude Wood final (unbadged) 



Chris Breeds, Mo Hayes, Anne Rutland and Linda Greenhalgh qualified in the fours



Mo Hayes, Anne Rutland and Linda Greenhalgh qualified in the triples.

The next rounds for all the above will be played at Hythe on Saturday 28th July 

diary of the day

Maude Wood

Hazel started off by winning the Maude Wood (unbadged) in great style

The Fours

The fours made up of Anne Rutland, Linda Greenhalgh, Chris Breeds and Mo Hayes beat Sidcup

The Triples

The finale was the triples Anne Rutland, Linda Greenhalgn and Mo Hayes who finished off a great day for Ashford Rail.

The fours and the triples both qualified for the Bowls England finals at Lemington Spa in August 

About Us


In the Beginning

 ASHFORD (KENT) RAIL BOWLS CLUBThe Club was formed in 1924 and named the Southern Railway Bowling Club, Ashford. The membership was formed from employees of the Southern Railway Mechanics Institute, Newtown. Male members only were allowed and they had to be 25 years of age. Institute subscriptions were one penny. Bowling Club subscriptions were: - Playing members 5/- (25p) Non playing members 2/6 (12½p)  


Early Days

The first club President was R.E.L. Maunsell. C.B.E. (Works Manager) 1924 – 1934. The Secretary was G. Winder 1924 -1965.All Club matches were played at the Ashford Town Bowling Club during the first year. They played 7 matches, winning 4 of them.During the year a 6 rink Cumberland Turf Green (paid for by the Directors of the Southern Railway) was being laid by Neal & Son.  A pavilion was built for the use of refreshments andlockers. The year finished with the Club Dinner at the Victoria Hotel, Beaver Road at a cost of 4/- (20p) per head.On 11th July 1925 the new green and pavilion were opened by Sir Herbert Ashcombe Walker and Lady Walker K.C.B. (General Manager of the Southern Railway 1923 -1937). The first match on the green was played against the Kent County Bowling Association. No play was allowed on Sundays. 


Presidents and Secretaries

The Club has been honoured to have had two County Presidents. Eric Cozens in 1937 and Vic Steeple in 1999. In 1977 seven members won County badges – a Club record.In 1952 the Club was taken over by British Railways and the Club was renamed the British Rail Staff Association, Ashford. In 1966 Alf Kemp was elected Bowls Secretary a job he did very efficiently until 2005. The club has only had 4 secretaries. The present secretary is Graham Williams from 2007  


Since 1970

 The Club House was rebuilt and on 27th August 1970 and officially opened by Eric Simmons, Area Manager, Southern Region.The cost of the new Club was £36,000.In 1994 the Club was again re-named Ashford (Kent) Rail Bowls Club. 


Present Day

 2013 the Ladies and Men’s sections amalgamated. The present President is Joe Willes  The Club plays in the Shepway & District league, the Bernard Annand Trophy and Memorial Shield. The club were the first winners of the Trophy in 1988.  The Club looks forward to it’s centenary in 2024 


Junior Section

Over the last ten years the club has a well established junior section. Many of the juniors now play regularly for the club at competitive levels  

2018 Club Competition Results

2018 Club competition results

Useful Contacts

Interested in joining our club or giving bowls a try? Download the contact information file to contact the club contacts

About Us


Fixtures and Selection

Fixtures and Selection

Fixtures and Selection

Upcoming games and team selection


How to find us

Fixtures and Selection

Fixtures and Selection

Directions and address for our club


Short Mat

Fixtures and Selection

Short Mat

Info about the winter short mat trains league